First CSA boxes

I dropped off the first boxes for our CSA’s two subscribers (oh yeah, we’re big-time!) this morning. They featured a bag of mixed greens, including baby spinach, Australian Yellowleaf and Forrellenschlus lettuce, radish greens, and baby chard. We also included a few radishes, and some thyme and marjoram I’ve been growing in containers in the greenhouse. I know I’m looking forward to digging into a big, hard-earned salad tonight!

I was so happy to drop-off these bags of beautiful, tasty greens to my friends and customers. I know delivering fresh, nutritious food that my husband and I grew will be one of my favorite chores throughout the summer. I have an inner-stereotypical-Italian-Grandmother who is just delighted to feed people. The rest of me really hates cleaning the kitchen, so farming is a good compromise for me!

3 responses

  1. Kim, how exciting!! Was Kate there to go delivering with you? I am sitting here with a big smile on my face so proud of how you’re turning this into reality!

    Love,
    Marguerite

    May 24, 2011 at 12:19 am

  2. Clare Bridge

    My email is not working — I can receive and read messages, but cannot send anything out. So I’m hoping you get this message.

    I’d be interested in one each of the following plants:
    Tomatoes:
    Ukranian Purple
    Black Cherry
    Mountain Magic

    Peppers:
    King of the North
    Ace
    Anaheim

    One of your Fairy Tale eggplants.

    I’m at the.

    My phone number is.
    I have a late class in town on Thursday night, so I might be late getting in on Friday morning. Let me know when you are planning on coming, and I’ll make an effort to be here — any time after 10 would be safe.

    June 1, 2011 at 5:23 pm

  3. Kim

    Oh shoot, Clare! I just saw this and the remaining plants are spoken for. I’m sure you’ll be able to find plants for your garden at either the farmer’s market or Valley Farms. Good luck!
    I’m going to edit your post so that your info isn’t just sitting around on the internet.

    June 5, 2011 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

